Weekly achievements and future goals

some words about my life (week 36)

·

5 min read

Weekly journaling is a great way to keep track of your growth and achievements. It allows you to see what you've done, where you are currently, and how far you've come.

Coding

I have finally continued working on my web application using the MERN stack in JavaScript. It has cost me a lot of energy to get into it again since I have not been able to code for 2 weeks. This was the biggest break in 1,5 years. However, I am back at it again and really happy about that. I finalized most of the functionality. Now, it is time to resolve all the bugs that have popped up. This is the first time I have to debug my own software and I am very excited about it!

What are my plans for the following weeks?

After covering some socializing functions in the web application I want to continue with the first tools I have in the pipeline.This will be the hardest part for me since I know basically how to make the tools for myself to run it in the IDE but not place them in a web application in order to provide it to other people. However, this is just another step in the journey and I will manage to do it! Another topic I will focus more on is the Python Pandas library for which I want to provide more tutorials in the future.

Calisthenics

I have struggled the previous months with my weight. In 2020 my weight was about 72kg and I was fine and there was not much left to master the planche. However, I then changed to a vegan diet and really did everything wrong you could do wrong. Thus, I gained 8kg and of course, struggled with doing the same exercises. I was really upset about my failures but moved on and improved my diet and also cut my calorie intake to 1800kcal although burning 3500 kcal - the next big mistake. You cannot cut your intake by this amount. The body switches to kind of an emergency mode and tries to store some energy (fat) although you are eating not enough. I did not understand what happened so I researched the topic and found this scientific information (do your own research). Now, I increased my calories to 2200–2500 kcal and decreased the amount of training to a calorie burn of 2500–2900 kcal in order to reduce the calorie deficit. I am already seeing some results. Another piece of advice I can give you is to stop watching your weight, instead, look in the mirror and see how comfortable you feel with it. Weight is not a good measurement of comfort.

What are my plans for the following weeks?

I have just started a new training plan which includes only basic exercises like pull-ups, push-ups, planche leans, dips, and handstands. I have recognized that I need to further improve my strength in order to advance. Sometimes you just need to go back to the basics - totally okay. Furthermore, I will keep my 5 days of exercising in a row plan and 2 days off strategy but will introduce 1 burn and recover week in which I will focus on cardio and stretching only. I am curious how this will affect my strength in Calisthenics and also the fat burning.

Social Media Growth

At the moment I am working hard for a good overall strategy for my social branding. At first, I wanted to be present on all channels with the same amount of content. I reduced it since I am a one-man business and I have to do all the stuff on my own besides my full-time job. I have no chance of reducing and focusing on certain platforms. My main focus is now on Twitter (of course) for creating most of my coding content as well as Medium (coding + growth + productivity). For all the visual content (in person) I focus on Tik Tok (vegxcodes + vegxsthenics) but distribute it to YouTube(vegxcodes + vegxsthenics) and Instagram(vegxcodes + vegxsthenics) too. I am providing a lot of motivational videos. I am also distributing my blog articles to LinkedIn, tumblr, my newsletter, Twitter.

What are my plans for the following weeks?

The plan is to increase engagement with other users on Twitter and TikTok. Of course, I will also look at other big accounts in order to improve the content and also the presentation of the content. Maybe I can also learn more about the algorithms of TikTok and Twitter. Concerning YouTube tutorials, I want to publish at least one video in 2 weeks.

Mindset building

This is my biggest project by far. I constantly improve my mindset in order to make my life a lot easier and more enjoyable. There are so many things I still need to work on - need is maybe the wrong word. I WANT TO WORK ON THOSE THINGS. Habits are a good way to improve. Some of the new habits I want to incorporate into my life are Cold Showers, Meditation, Evening Stretch, Daily Brainstorming sessions. I have tried to incorporate Meditation already but have failed to stay consistent with it so I will try again now since I see a lot of benefits in it. I will let you know how it works in the following updates.

Weekly Achievements

I am really thankful to be back at coding again and finally finished the first step toward my first SaaS. Furthermore, I am proud of my achievements in Calisthenics. I am making progress every week and getting closer to mastering the skills I have set as goals. Regarding my writing on Medium, I was accepted as a writer in the ILLUMINATION publication. Hopefully, this will give me another boost in people reading my articles.

Wish you all a beautiful start to the week tomorrow. Happy Learning!

Thanks for reading this article! If you want to support me you can do it as follows:

  1. Give me a follow here on Hashnode, Twitter, Medium, Instagram, TikTok or YouTube.
  2. Like the article
  3. Leave a short comment
 I really appreciate every kind of support! Every interaction you are doing with the content will help me grow and deliver better content with time. 🚀

Thank you, 
VEGXCODES

Â